Testimonials

Display # 

The kids really enjoyed your workshop, you made  it easy for younger children and challenging for older children but still letting them create their individual drawings which was evident in the result.  Well Done!I think the success of the workshop really worked by picking a theme the children were really interested in. 
Pokémon is popular with the kids at St Matthew’s OSHC! Thanks again it was an  “Easy and Fun experience for children prep to year 7”

Julie Steel - Coordinator St Matthew’s Centacare OSHC
2014-10-08

“Phil facilitated a recent cartoon workshop we held for 20 children between the ages of 6 and 15years old. He arrived early and provided all the utensils needed for the workshop. Phil had a professional and friendly manner that engaged well with the children.  It was a delight to see the finished cartoons, and how excited the children were to be able to produce such great artwork with his encouragement.  His patience and humour were appreciated as  the children were kept occupied for 2 hours.   We would definitely welcome Phil back for any further cartoon workshops and highly recommend him for any workshops being considered.”

Cathy McCabe - Encircle Community Mentoring Program
2014-10-07

Phil offered me a fast, professional, personal service and had the ability to create exactly what I was after from a simple verbal brief. The process was painless and swift - exactly what anyone could be after. I would use his services again in a heartbeat for any future cartoon work.

 

Paul Godwin Government Dept
2014-09-16

Pet New Zealand magazine commissioned Comic Express to draw a number of cartoons to illustrate some of our feature articles. On each cartoon Phillip Judd worked extremely fast and had a rough sketch to show us within 24 hours, then he had the the final artwork finished and sent to us the following day. Once seeing the rough sketch if we had any changes (which was rare) Phil was more than happy to do them. We were very happy with the quality of the finished artwork Comic Express produced for Pet New Zealand magazine and Phil Judd is very professional and easy to work with.
- Rosie Hooper and the team at Pet New Zealand magazine.

Rosie Hooper (Art Director) The Fusion Group Ltd – publishers of Bride & Groom magazine and Pet magazine
2011-08-29

I used Phil Judd for Phil Judd Comic Express for one of our function biggest event, we used him to illustrate the concept of the business in a comical way and it was very well received by the audience.  Phil was great to deal with; he attended to all my queries with patience and in a timely manner.  I was given the chances to review the draft and make changes where see fit.  Phil seems to have lots of experience and I sometimes find that he can read my mind and know exactly what I want.  The final product were just immaculate, it was the talk of the town until now.  Phil work ethic is second to none and I was so glad that I was dealing with him.

Angie Tye - (Multi-National Mining Corporation)
2011-08-24

I have been reviewing my year and going over what worked well and what needs to change and it became obvious that I should send through acknowledgement of how well your cartooning services integrated into my custom designed national training programs for Mortgage Choice.

I really appreciated the collaborative approach and flexibility you provided. I truly believe that we were able to deliver a fantastic end result to my client due to your creative skills and willingness to dynamically adjust as the concepts evolved.

You can be proud of the fact that the program you directly contributed to was recognised as the best custom-designed sales training program in Australia earlier this year! This was voted on by the Fellows at the Institute for Learning Practitioners in the National Learning Impact Awards! These awards not only look at the design elements but the actual results that the end client receives so you know your contribution made a very real difference to a national publicly listed organisation!

Feel free to use elements of the training materials as part of your portfolio and I would be happy to provide a verbal reference to anyone considering engaging your services. I know that I certainly will do so again.

Craig Leaney - Sales Team Development
2013-05-12

I was lucky enough to work with Phil Judd over a five month period. The job was a continual work-in-progress and I found him very efficient at being able to juggle several things at once. He was reliable and organised and, with me being interstate, very easy to contact.

He stayed within the brief, following direction and offering up his own ideas. Phil was happy to discuss concepts and often provided several options for comparison. His use of colour and shade brought his illustrations to life in ways I hadn't anticipated. Phil didn't always choose the obvious colour, instead coming up with interesting combinations that made the illustrations engaging and my book unique.
I have no hesitation is recommending Phil as a thorough, creative, enthusiatic illustrator who is a breeze to work with.

Lisa Herbert - Author and publisher of 'Bottom of the Drawer Book".
2013-05-28

In December 2012 I was contracted by Lisa Herbert for the graphic design and layout of her book project ‘The Bottom Drawer Book’. Working on the production of this book has provided me with the wonderful opportunity of collaborating with other creative souls such as Phillip Judd from Comic Express.
Phillip provided the illustrations for ‘The Bottom Drawer Book’ and is a true professional in his field. Phillip provided valuable input toward provision of press ready artwork and developing a colour palette suitable for the look and feel of the book, providing a seamless flow throughout this project with the supply of illustrations, at all times responding quickly to any changes or requests from both Lisa and myself.
It has been a real priviledge to work with Phillip and I look forward to working with him on future projects.

Wendy James - Director Black Jam Graphic Design Studios
2014-05-30

Love your cartoon work! They're very good! A real addition to our magazine.

Todd Tia - Publisher of Mivision (Optometry) Magazine
2012-08-06

Thank you for all of those fantastic cartoons for the Wedding stories! They look awesome! They're  fantastic, thank you!

Rosie Little (Art Director) - The Fusion Group Ltd – publishers of Bride and Groom Magazine
2012-06-06

Pet New Zealand magazine commissioned Comic Express to draw a number of cartoons to illustrate some of our feature articles. On each cartoon Phillip Judd worked extremely fast and had a rough sketch to show us within 24 hours, then he had the the final artwork finished and sent to us the following day. Once seeing the rough sketch if we had any changes (which was rare) Phil was more than happy to do them. We were very happy with the quality of the finished artwork Comic Express produced for Pet New Zealand magazine and Phil Judd is very professional and easy to work with.

Rosie Hooper and the team at Pet New Zealand magazine. Phil has also done cartoon illustrations for their magazine 'Bride and Groom' magazine
2011-08-27

I love them all. The pet cartoons are excellent and so many to choose from!  I am glad you got them in on such late notice –Thanks!

Amanda Logan - Publisher and Editor of 'Urban Tails' Magazine
2008-08-21

Through the eyes of talented comic artist Phil Judd, the worlds most famous pig dog ‘Grunt’ came to life back in 2006. Even without being a hunter himself, Phil has truly captured the hearts and minds of many people who enjoy the outdoor pursuits of hunting and having that companion animal alongside them.
As a pig dog in his retirement days, “Grunt” needs something to do with his spare time. Enter Phil Judd. Phil has designed and drawn “Grunt’ perfectly for many years, and all started normally with a couple of rough ideas from my head, Phil grabs that idea and develops  each comic strip with dead set precision.
Professional, quick, witty with his new job ideas for Grunt, and at the right price. The service from Phil has always been A1, and I look forward to using Phils services well into the future.

Dave Brazier - Self Publisher BIUY Magazine
2011-09-01

Phil that is fantastic. You have made my day. I’m happy with the costs and cartoons are exactly what I want. Thanks again and for doing everything via email, very impressive.

Marissa Greci - Private Pet Caricature Commission
2012-08-06

I was let down by the original designer I'd contracted with, so Phil really needed to turn something around for me in a hurry for my mum's 60th. Working from an email spec and a few photos I sent through, and showing great patience for the number of small alterations requested, he delivered something truly unique and priceless for my mum. All this quickly, with a minimum of fuss and for a good price. I would definitely recommend Comic Express and Phil personally

Kay Wallis - Private Caricature for Present
2011-08-24

Thanks so much for all of your efforts, this cartoon arrived today and it looks great! I’ll head off to the framers tomorrow to finish the masterpiece.

Susan Heymann - Private Cartoon (of marriage proposal) for wedding present
2010-02-15

Excellent Phil! Appreciate what you have done – I am very happy with the result.Thanks for helping out, and if I ever have further needs in this area . . . .rest assured, you're my man!

Michael Nottle - Administration Manager: Innamincka Petroleum Limited (Private Caricature Commission)
2010-06-17

The text and layout of the cartoon are great. I appreciate your work and drawing style. I'm really happy with the cartoon, thanks again for your expertise and ideas.

Ian Paterson - Private Cartoon Commission
2009-08-04

Great job Phil! You have really captured the text into funny images! They add alot to the book. The covers are excellent and you have gone beyond what I though could be done. Thanks also for the great text summary for the back cover as well. Overall a very professional job. Working with you was easy and a real pleasure.

Adam East - Book Cover Design (Front and Back including text) and cartoon illustrations for text for self published book.
2008-10-10

Phil has been my colourist on Ginger Meggs since 2009. I can't talk highly enough of his instincts for colour. A good colourist is the difference that distinguishes a professional looking cartoon.

Jason Chatfield - Cartoonist for Ginger Meggs Comic Strip
2012-10-06